The unique Al Thumama Stadium will become an iconic feature of Qatar's landscape, from the ground and the air.

Located in the vicinity of Doha's Hamad International Airport, many visitors will get their first glimpse of the magnificent stadium from above, with its glorious circular design and ultramodern roof.

It's from the ground, however, that this proposed 2022 FIFA World Cup Qatar™ venue's identity truly comes to life.

al thumama stadium design
 al thumama stadium design

Weaving our culture into 2022

The stadium's design is inspired by the gahfiya, a traditional woven cap worn for centuries by males in many Arab countries. In Qatar and surrounding countries, men wear the gahfiya beneath the ghutra (flowing cotton cloth) and agal (decorative black rope). The style and even the name of the gahfiya varies slightly from country to country, yet still binds Arab nations together through shared tradition.

This spirit of a common regional heritage flows through the arena – and meets with a bold new vision for sporting venues. The intricate, thoughtful design of Al Thumama Stadium represents both the past and the future of not only Qatar – but the whole Arab world.

al thumama stadium design
 al thumama stadium design

Built by the best

The renowned Arab Engineering Bureau (AEB) – one of the oldest architectural and engineering firms in Qatar – was responsible for the concept and schematic design of Al Thumama Stadium. AEB has been awarded numerous local and international architectural awards for a style that perfectly incorporates and reflects Qatari, Arab and Islamic culture.

The project was led by AEB's chief architect, Ibrahim M. Jaidah. A Qatari national and one of the region's most respected practitioners, his previous work includes some of the country's most prominent landmarks, including the Ritz-Carlton's Sharq Village & Spa and the Ministry of Interior headquarters in Qatar.

al thumama stadium design
 al thumama stadium design

Discover more about Al Thumama Stadium: Main page | Sustainability | Progress | Legacy

Learn about our stadiums: Al Bayt | Al Rayyan | Al Wakrah | Education City | Khalifa International | Lusail | Ras Abu Aboud

English

سيتميز استاد الثمامة كأيقونة ساحرة ملفتة للأنظار من الجو أو من الأرض، تضاف إلى لوحات الفن المعماري المنتشرة في أرجاء قطر. 

يقع استاد الثمامة في منطقة قريبة من مطار حمد الدولي في الدوحة، مما يمنح الفرصة للعديد من ضيوف قطر للاستمتاع بمشاهدة هذا الاستاد الرائع للوهلة الأولى من الجو، وذلك بفضل تصميمه الدائري الأخاذ، وسقفه ذي الملامح العصرية.

سيتكامل هذا المشهد الجوي للمنشأة المقترحة لاستضافة بطولة كأس العالم لكرة القدم قطر 2022 مع ما سيعيشه أهل قطر وضيوفها على الأرض في هذا الاستاد والمنطقة المحيطة به.

 التصميم
 التصميم

ننسج خيوط ثقافتنا نحو 2022

استوحي تصميم استاد الثمامة من القحفية التقليدية في الوطن العربي، وقد سُمّيت بذلك لأنها القبعة التي تُغطي "قحف" الرأس أيْ قشرته. يرتدي الرجال القحفية تحت الغترة العقال في قطر والبلدان المجاورة، وبالرغم من اختلاف مسميات وتصاميم القحفية بين العرب، إلا أنهم يجتمعون على ارتدائها كقاسم ثقافي مشترك بينهم.

كانت هذه الروح التي تربط أبناء المنطقة بتقاليدهم المشتركة وتاريخهم العريق أولى الخيوط التي نسجت فكرة تصميم الاستاد، التي تجتمع مع رؤية مفهوم جديد للمنشآت الرياضية العصرية. يمثل استاد الثمامة بتصميمه المتشابك العمق التاريخي لقطر والوطن العربي ككل ويفتح أبواباً واسعة على مستقبل مشرق.

 التصميم
 التصميم

مصمم قطري بأسلوب عالمي

كان المكتب الهندسي العربي (EN) الشهير صاحب فكرة استاد الثمامة وهو من تولى تصميمه. ويعتبر المكتب الهندسي العربي أحد أكثر شركات الهندسة المعمارية عراقة في قطر، وقد حصل على العديد من الجوائز المحلية والعالمية في مجال الهندسة المعمارية لأسلوبه الذي يعكس الثقافة القطرية والعربية والإسلامية.

قاد مشروع تصميم استاد الثمامة كبير معماريي المكتب الهندسي العربي، المهندس القطري إبراهيم محمد جيدة (EN)، الذي يعد أحد أشهر معماريي المنطقة، وتشهد على تميزه وإبداعه أعماله السابقة التي تتضمن مبنى وزارة الداخلية القطرية، وقرية ومنتجع شرق ريتز كارلتون.

 التصميم
 التصميم

Arabic