The historic port of Al Wakrah has always looked outwards across the open sea and to the future. Its new stadium is no different, with a long-term legacy that will go far beyond the waters of the Gulf.

A local focus, with a global reach

To accommodate football fans during the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022™, Al Janoub Stadium has a seating capacity of 40,000. After the tournament winners have been crowned, around 20,000 seats will be removed (taking advantage of its modular design) and transported to countries in need of football infrastructure. This will not only boost the game's global reach and enhance social development abroad, but it will also leave Al Wakrah with an arena perfectly suited to local needs.

Infrastructure for sport, education & communities

The football stadium is just the start of the Supreme Committee for Delivery & Legacy's plans. Additional sporting facilities being developed in the precinct surrounding the stadium include cycling and running tracks, and a multipurpose indoor arena. New pedestrian-friendly outdoor spaces will encourage people to keep fit, while a new school will exercise the mind.

A mosque, wedding hall and market are also being constructed, bringing a tight-knit community even closer together. Local business and tourism, meanwhile, will benefit from improvements to the souq, the port and the corniche.

Green technology is just another way that Al Janoub Stadium is making a valuable contribution to the objectives of the Qatar National Vision 2030 (QNV 2030). The project is already enhancing tourism and business opportunities, sporting facilities and community amenities. It is also stimulating economic, social, human and environmental development – all pillars of the QNV 2030 strategy to build a better future for Qatar.

Discover more about Al Janoub Stadium

Al Janoub Stadium.
 Al Janoub Stadium Design.
  Al Janoub Stadium Sustainability.
  Al Janoub Stadium Timeline.

Learn about our stadiums

Al Bayt Stadium.
 Al Rayyan Stadium.
 Al Thumama Stadium.
Education City Stadium.
Khalifa International Stadium.
Lusail Stadium.
Ras Abu Aboud Stadium.
Stadiums Overview.

English

الوكرة هي الميناء التاريخي لدولة قطر، وبداية طريقها عبر البحر المفتوح إلى باقي أرجاء العالم، وإلى المستقبل أيضاً. يأخذ استاد الجنوب هذه الصفات من المدينة التي تحتضنه، حاملًا إرثاً طويل الأمد تصنعه قطر ليعم العالم أجمع.

إرث يبدأ من الوكرة، ليصل إلى العالم

تبلغ الطاقة الاستيعابية لاستاد الجنوب 40,000 مقعد ليستطيع احتضان المشجعين خلال بطولة كأس العالم لكرة القدم قطر 2022، أما بعد أن يرفع الفريق الفائز الكأس معلناً بدأ احتفالات اختتام البطولة، سيتم فك 20,000 مقعد –بفضل تصميمها بطريقة مركّبة– ونقلها إلى دول تحتاج إلى بنية تحتية لكرة القدم، مما سيسهم في جعل أثر كرة القدم الإيجابي أوسع انتشاراً في العالم، وسيعزز من التنمية الاجتماعية في كل الأرجاء، وسيكون الاستاد بطاقته الاستيعابية الجديدة مناسباً تماماً لمدينة الوكرة وأهلها.

بنية تحتية للرياضة، والتعليم، والمجتمعات

لدى اللجنة العليا للمشاريع والإرث خطط عديدة بالنسبة لمدينة الوكرة، أولاها بناء استاد كرة القدم، ثم إضافة منشآت رياضية كثيرة في المنطقة المحيطة به، والتي تشمل مسارات لركوب الدراجات الهوائية والركض. بالإضافة إلى قاعة داخلية متعددة الاستخدامات، ومساحات خارجية لمحبي المشي في الهواء الطلق، مما سيكون عاملًا مشجعاً للناس في الحفاظ على لياقتهم البدنية، بينما سيتم إنشاء مدرسة ومركز للتدريب، التي ستؤدي دوراً كبيراً في تنشئة الأجيال علمياً وعملياً.

تشتمل خطط اللجنة العليا على بناء مرافق مجتمعية في المكان، ليتحول إلى ملتقى لأبناء الوكرة، وتضم مسجداً، وقاعة للأفراح، وسوقاً، في حين سيستفيد قطاع الأعمال والسياحة من التحسينات على السوق، والميناء، والكورنيش.

يقدم استاد الجنوب إضافة أخرى إلى إسهاماته القيمة في تحقيق أهداف رؤية قطر الوطنية 2030 تتمثل في الاعتماد على التقنية الخضراء. يعزز المشروع فرص السياحة والأعمال، ويقدّم شكلاً آخر من المنشآت الرياضية والمرافق المجتمعية، ويحفز التنمية الاقتصادية، والاجتماعية، والبشرية، والبيئية، وهي ركائز رؤية قطر الوطنية لبناء مستقبل أفضل للبلاد وأهلها.


Arabic