The distinctive form of Al Janoub Stadium is instantly recognised by all who see it – and won’t be easily forgotten. Its graceful lines and flowing curves were inspired by traditional dhow boats weaving through the currents of the Gulf.

A modern take on a historic design

This futuristic arena alludes to Al Wakrah's seafaring past – a spectacular bridge between old and new, and a strong visual representation of Qatar's drive to reach beyond its shores.

Beauty meets practicality

The view from inside the stadium is just as stunning, where bowed beams hold up the roof, resembling a ship's hull and allowing light to flood into the arena.

Plenty of light doesn’t mean too much heat though. Alongside an innovative cooling system, ingenious design plays a part in keeping fans, players and officials comfortable. Detailed micro-climate analysis informed the arena's shape, with aerodynamics and optimal shading from the roof (which incorporates a minimal amount of glass) making a significant contribution to temperature control.

These inspirations have come from AECOM, who designed Al Janoub Stadium in association with Zaha Hadid Architects. AECOM served as the design consultant on the project, while KEO International Consultants was the project manager.


Discover more about Al Janoub Stadium: Main page | Sustainability | Legacy | Timeline

Learn about our stadiums: Al Bayt | Al Rayyan | Al Thumama | Education City | Khalifa International | Lusail | Ras Abu Aboud

English

يخطف شكل استاد الجنوب المميز الأنظار من الوهلة الأولى، وسيبقى عالقاً في أذهان المشجعين طويلاً. استوحيت خطوطه الرشيقة ومنحنياته السلسة من أشرعة المراكب التقليدية وهي تنسج مياه الخليج مع بعضها حين كانت تجوب البحار مسطرةً أروع قصص النجاح والترابط بين أهل قطر.

عنوان عصري لتصميم تاريخي

يظهر الاستاد بملامح تعود بنا إلى ماضي التجارة البحرية التي عُرفت بها الوكرة بأسلوب عصري منفتح على المستقبل، مشكلاً جسراً يربط الماضي بالحاضر، ورمزاً بصرياً قوياً لحرص قطر على التواصل مع العالم.

التطبيق العملي لمعاني الجمال

المشهد من داخل الاستاد في غاية الروعة تماماً كما هو الحال من خارجه، حيث يرتفع السقف عالياً بمعاونة العوارض التي تنحني تحته، يحاكي بذلك هيكل السفينة، ويسمح للضوء بالمرور داخل الاستاد بكل سلاسة.

الإضاءة الطبيعية التي تغمر المكان لا تعني أن تزيد درجة الحرارة، فإلى جانب نظام التكييف المبتكر، يلعب التصميم البارع دوراً في ضمان راحة المشجعين، واللاعبين، والمسؤولين. يسهم التحليل المفصل للمناخ المحلي الذي أجري على شكل الاستاد، مع الديناميكية الهوائية والتظليل الأمثل من السقف (والذي يشتمل على كمية ضئيلة من الزجاج) إسهاماً كبيراً في السيطرة على درجة الحرارة.

يعود الفضل في هذه الأفكار الملهمة إلى شركة إيكوم (EN) الذين قدّموا خدمات استشاري التصميم بالتعاون مع شركة زها حديد للتصميم المعماري (EN)، بينما تولت شركة "كيه إي أو" للاستشارات الدولية (EN) إدارة المشروع.


Arabic