We know how important it is that workers lead fulfilling lives as they prepare Qatar for the 2022 FIFA World Cup™. This desire to improve their lives led to the creation of the Workers' Cup.

 Workers Cup
 Workers Cup

Teams of workers compete for the cup, cheered on by other workers in the stands, who create more and more excitement with each edition of the tournament.

The competition was launched in 2013 by the Qatar Stars League and the Supreme Committee for Delivery & Legacy. As well as engaging workers through the beautiful game, we hoped to spark interest in the 2022 FIFA World Cup™ and widen access to football.

Many of the teams competing have players working on 2022 FIFA World Cup Qatar™ projects. Alongside our social outreach activities and recreational facilities at accommodation sites, the Workers' Cup inspires workers to lead healthier lifestyles.

From strength to strength

The cup has captured the attention of workers and the companies they represent, growing in popularity with each passing year.

 Workers' Cup
 Workers' Cup

Reflecting the tournament's tremendous success, the number of participating teams doubled to 32 in 2017. In total, 370 Workers' Cup fixtures have been played, featuring more than 1,300 goals. 

Many high-profile visitors to Qatar have hailed the Workers' Cup, recognising the important part it plays in our workers' welfare efforts. FIFA President Gianni Infantino attended the tournament in 2016 and created great excitement among the workers, who raced to take photos with him.

Workers' Cup
 Workers' Cup

The 2019 tournament saw more than 600 players take part, including workers engaged on 2022 FIFA World Cup™ projects and workers involved with Generation Amazing. At the final, nearly 10,000 people watched Nakheel Landscapes beat Taleb Group to claim their third title.

Real stories

From player to manager

Nakheel Landscapes coach Sami Salah Udden has called upon all his experience in the game to mastermind his team's three Workers' Cup triumphs. Having played for Qatar Stars League sides Al Sailiya Sports Club and Al Ahli Sports Club, he is now making a name for himself as a manager.

Before his team secured a third title in January 2019, he highlighted the impact the tournament has had on Nakheel Landscapes: 

'The past two years have boosted the confidence of everyone at the company – the players and the entire workforce. We are all thankful for the tournament.'

Having watched their company's first Workers' Cup win from the stands, three workers were inspired to join the team – and became a prolific strike force. Under Udden's guidance, the Moroccan trio of Imad Kairat, Mohammed Ait Braik and Othmane Bendahan powered the team on to even greater success.

A second chance for glory

Jerry Ayitey was a professional footballer in Ghana before an injury put an end to his career in football. But, 10 years after his dreams were shattered, he played in front of 11,000 fans as his team won the Workers' Cup 2016.

 Workers' Cup
 Workers' Cup

Collecting a trophy in front of adoring fans had been why Ayitey started playing and, thanks to the Workers' Cup, he was able to realise this ambition. 

"Meeting the FIFA president after coming through a semi-final match made us more determined to win the final," said Ayitey."

'His words of wisdom – that football is all about the hope and determination of ordinary people – kept ringing in my ears during the final, as they do even now. These are the moments every football lover lives for.'

Explore our workers' journey: Main Page | Recruitment | Working | Living | Social | Returning Home

Read more about our Workers' Welfare programme: Homepage | Our Workers | Our Standards |
Our Commitment | Our Team

نحن ندرك مدى أهمية الترفيه عن العامل في شعوره بالسعادة والرضا خلال فترة عمله في مشاريع كأس العالم FIFA قطر ٢٠٢٢™. ومن هنا جاءت فكرة تنظيم بطولة كأس العمال لكرة القدم.

 كأس العمال
 كأس العمال

تهدف البطولة إلى تجمع العمال معاً، سواء لاعبين على ميدان المنافسات، أو مشجعين في المدرجات مع الآلاف من أقرانهم الداعمين للفرق المشاركة ما يخلق أجواءً من المتعة والإثارة، سعياً للفوز بلقب البطولة التي تستمر منافساتها على مدى أسابيع.

انطلقت بطولة كأس العمال (EN) في عام 2013 بتعاون مشترك بين دوري نجوم قطر واللجنة العليا للمشاريع والإرث، بغرض الاستفادة من اللعبة الجميلة في التواصل والمشاركة مع العمال، وتعزيز الوعي حول كأس العالم FIFA قطر ٢٠٢٢™، وتوسيع قاعدة ممارسة كرة القدم في المجتمع.

تتشكّل غالبية الفرق المشاركة في البطولة من العاملين في مشاريع كأس العالم FIFA قطر ٢٠٢٢™. وكما هو الحال في أنشطة المشاركة الاجتماعية والمرافق الترفيهية في أماكن السكن، يستفيد العمال من بطولة كأس العمال في اتباع أساليب حياة أكثر صحة.

من نجاح إلى آخر

نجحت البطولة عاماً بعد آخر في استقطاب اهتمام العمال والشركات التي يعملون بها، وحظيت بشعبية واسعة خارج محيط العمل والعمال.

 كأس العمال
 كأس العمال

 وانعكس النجاح الهائل الذي حققته البطولة على عدد الفرق المشاركة الذي تضاعف في نسخة 2017 ليصل إلى 32 فريقاً، بينما بلغت حصيلة الأهداف التي سجّلها اللاعبون خلال نسخ البطولة أكثر من 1,300 هدفاً في 370 مباراة.

إلى جانب ذلك، حظيت بطولة كأس العمال باهتمام شخصيات رفيعة المستوى خلال زيارتها إلى دولة قطر، إدراكاً منها للدور الهام الذي تلعبه البطولة في جهودنا لرعاية العمال، حيث حضر السيد جياني إنفانتينو رئيس الاتحاد الدولي لكرة القدم (فيفا) (EN) مجريات كأس العمال 2016، وشهد منافسات البطولة وسط العمال الذين تسابقوا لالتقاط الصور التذكارية معه.

 كأس العمال
 كأس العمال

شارك في نسخة 2019 من البطولة أكثر من 600 لاعب بمن فيهم العاملون في مشاريع كأس العالم FIFA قطر ٢٠٢٢™ والعاملون مع الجيل المبهر. شهدت المباراة النهائية حضور ما يقارب 10,000 مشجّع، حيث نجح فريق النخيل (EN) في الفوز على فريق طالب وإحراز اللقب للمرة الثالثة.

قصص واقعية

من لاعب إلى مدرب

استحضر سامي صلاح الدين، مدرب فريق النخيل، كل ما اكتسبه من خبرة في كرة القدم ليكون العقل المدبر لفوز فريقه بكأس العمال للمرة الثالثة. وهو يسعى الآن ليكتسب أكثر شهرة كمدرب بعد أن لعب مع دوري نجوم قطر، ونادي السيلية الرياضي، والنادي الأهلي.   

قبل إحراز فريقه اللقب في نسخة يناير 2019، كان قد شيد بدور البطولة وأثرها على فريق النخيل قائلاً: 

"ساهمت السنتين الأخيرتين في تعزيز ثقة الجميع في الشركة بمن فيهم اللاعبون وكل القوى العاملة. يعود الفضل في ذلك للبطولة."

من على المدرجات، شهد ثلاثة عمال فوز فريق شركتهم لأول مرة بكأس العمال، فمنحهم ذلك شحنة من الحماس ليلتحقوا بالفريق ويشكلوا قوة هجوم خارقة. تحت إشراف المدرب صلاح الدين، ضاعف الثلاثي المغربي عماد خيرت، ومحمد آيت بريك، وعثمان بن دهان قوة الفريق ليحصد مزيداً من النجاحات.   

فرصة جديدة لتحقيق النصر

كان جيري آيتي لاعب كرة قدم محترف في غانا، قبل أن تضع الإصابة نهاية لمسيرته الرياضية منذ أكثر من 10 أعوام، لكنه عاد ليلعب من جديد أمام 11,000 مشجّع، ويفوز مع فريقه ببطولة كأس العمال 2016.

 كأس العمال
 كأس العمال

لطالما كان التتويج بالبطولات أمام حشود من المشجعين هو ما حلم به آيتي عندما بدأ ممارسة كرة القدم. وبالرغم من عدم تمكنه من تحقيق حلمه كلاعب كرة قدم محترف، إلا أنه عاش لحظات التتويج ذاتها بفضل مشاركته في منافسات كأس العمال.

يقول آيتي: "بعد أن التقينا برئيس الفيفا في مباراة نصف النهائي، أصبحنا أكثر عزماً على الفوز بالمباراة النهائية." 

"لقد تردد في أسماعنا صدى كلماته بأن كرة القدم تجسّد الأمل والإصرار من جانب أشخاص عاديين نجحوا في تحقيق أحلامهم، وما زال أثر كلماته باقياً في ذهني إلى الآن. هذه هي اللحظات التي يطمح إليها كل عاشق لكرة القدم."

اقرأ المزيد حول برنامجنا لرعاية العمال: الصفحة الرئيسية | عمالنا | معاييرنا | التزامنا | فريقنا