From the very beginning, the Supreme Committee for Delivery & Legacy (SC) has understood the importance of workers having a voice. It is why our Workers' Welfare team regularly visits and interacts with our workers. It is why we formed the workers' welfare forum as a mechanism for raising concerns directly to employers via elected representatives. It is why we introduced a dedicated grievance hotline to deal with issues that are not resolved elsewhere. Finally, it is why we work with trade unions and external monitors, to catch any issues that might not reach us directly.

'I feel privileged to represent my fellow workers. This is an opportunity to improve as a team leader and encourage my colleagues to improve communication around issues that really matter.'

Mukesh Giri, Challenger Trading and Contracting elected representative, Al Janoub Stadium.

Communication is key to ensuring workers have a positive work experience in Qatar.

Workers' welfare forums

In line with our standards, we have mandated that every contractor or sub-contractor commits, prior to tendering, to the establishment of workers' welfare forums for each of their accommodation sites. This commitment includes the appointment of project worker welfare officers on all stadium sites and worker welfare officers at workers' accommodation sites. 

By April 2019, 114 workers’ welfare forums were in operation, representing more than 22,000 workers.

 Workers' Voice
 Workers' Voice

The workers' welfare forums provide a safe environment in which to raise a wide range of issues, including accommodation, food, transport and health & safety. These forums include worker representatives for each nationality present at the accommodation site, as well as representatives of those workers' contractor or contractors.

Towards the end of 2017, the workers for all of our stadiums began the process of voting for their new representatives. A selection of hopeful candidates put their names forward for the honour of a place on the forum. Whether emboldened by previous experiences or inspired by their colleagues standing for election, workers on all of our projects participated in this democratic process, ensuring that they are heard.

 Workers' Voice
 Workers' Voice

Programme welfare forum

When matters are not resolved by our workers' welfare forums, they are escalated to the programme welfare forum. It is also where matters of particular concern relating to existing or potential employee relations issues can be discussed. In addition, this forum offers and identifies possible solutions and strategies on unresolved matters relating to non-compliance with our Workers' Welfare Standards, either on construction sites or at accommodation sites.

 Workers' Voice
 Workers' Voice

Grievance hotline

In 2017, we introduced a dedicated workers' grievance hotline. This anonymous hotline offers workers the opportunity to raise issues – directly and confidentially – related to accommodation, recruitment and working conditions with members of our Workers' Welfare team. The hotline has been popular with workers and further awareness sessions are currently being carried out to ensure all workers are aware of the service. 

These awareness sessions have led to a change in the types of issues raised as the workers gain confidence in the impact the platform can have. More than 330 grievances have been raised, with 287 already resolved.

 Workers' Voice
 Workers' Voice

In an additional attempt to encourage in-depth reporting of grievances, the Workers' Welfare team partnered with the Qatar Behavioural Insights Unit (QBIU) to carry out a behavioural experiment with selected workers' welfare forums. The QBIU was created by the SC to draw on behavioural economics and psychology using low-cost, applied policy instruments. Their work will begin with specific workers' welfare forums, and will then be rolled out to a wider group of worker representatives based on the rate of success and the lessons learned.

Communication with external parties

We encourage openness and honesty in our dialogue. When we signed a cooperation agreement with the Building and Wood Workers' International (BWI) we actively encouraged discussions and interaction between one of the world's largest trade unions and the workforce building stadiums for the 2022 FIFA World Cup Qatar™.

 Workers' Voice
 Workers' Voice

Impactt Ltd. – our independent external monitor – has a team of field researchers who use unrestricted access to our sites to hear directly from the men and women on the ground who are bringing our stadiums to life. “Worker first” is Impactt's motto. It's a philosophy we also embrace.

Real stories

In October 2017, the SC oversaw workers' welfare forum elections at worker accommodation sites in Al Shahaniya and Labour City, and at the Challenger Trading & Contracting accommodation site.

Ramu Dishahani, a 49-year-old pipe fitter from Nepal, spoke about his pride at being elected and representing his colleagues who worked on Al Janoub Stadium. Beside him was Firdos Islam from India, a 40-year-old who also worked on Al Janoub Stadium.

 Workers' Voice
 Workers' Voice

From 8 AM until 3 PM, the workers cast their votes for the colleagues who would represent them in the Workers' Welfare Forum. Almost 1,000 people gathered for the results. 

"I'm very proud," said Ramu when the result came in. "It's important that we can talk about any issues we feel are important. I have never experienced this kind of opportunity at previous jobs."

The success of this democratic process demonstrated that workers believe the issues they face will be dealt with by colleagues who care. It also highlights their trust that the workers' welfare forums elevate issues of importance that are ultimately dealt with by the contractor and the SC.

 Workers' Voice
 Workers' Voice

Read more about our Workers' Welfare programme: Homepage | The Journey | Our Standards |
Our Commitment | Our Team

أدركت اللجنة العليا للمشاريع والإرث منذ البداية أهمية الاستماع إلى أصوات العمال، ولذلك يحرص فريق رعاية العمال على القيام بزيارات دورية للعمال والتواصل المباشر معهم، كما أن ذلك دفعنا لتشكيل منتدى رعاية العمال باعتباره آلية لنقل هموم العمال مباشرة إلى الشركات التي يعملون بها عبر ممثليهم المنتخبين، وتخصيص خط ساخن لتلقي شكاوى العمال للتعامل مع المشاكل التي لم يجد العمال لها حلًا، علاوة على العمل مع اتحادات نقابية ومراقبين خارجيين، وذلك بهدف الكشف عن أية قضايا قد لا تصلنا بشكل مباشر.

"أشعر بالفخر لتمثيل زملائي العمال. إنها فرصة للتحسن كقائد للفريق وتشجيع زملائي على تعزيز التواصل حول القضايا المهمة حقاً."

موكيش جيري، العامل المنتخب لتمثيل شركة تشالنجر للتجارة والمقاولات، استاد الجنوب.

لا شك أن التواصل يعد عنصراً جوهرياً لضمان استمتاع العمال بتجربة عمل إيجابية في قطر.

منتديات رعاية العمال

تماشياً مع معاييرنا، ألزمنا جميع المقاولين الرئيسيين والمقاولين الفرعيين، قبل اجراءت طرح المناقصات، بإقامة منتديات لرعاية العمال في كل موقع من أماكن السكن، ويشمل هذا الالتزام تعيين مسؤولي رعاية عمال المشروع في كافة مواقع الاستادات، ومسؤولين لرعاية العمال في أماكن السكن.

وانطلقت أنشطة 114 منتدى لرعاية العمال بحلول أبريل 2019، وتمثل هذه المنتديات أكثر من 22.000 عامل.

 صوت العمال
 صوت العمال

توفّر منتديات رعاية العمال بيئة آمنة لرفع مجموعة واسعة من قضايا العمال، وتشمل أماكن السكن، والتغذية، والنقل، والصحة والسلامة. وتضم هذه المنتديات ممثلين عن العمال من كل جنسية في أماكن السكن، وكذلك ممثلين عن المقاولين الرئيسيين أو المقاولين الفرعيين الذين يعمل لديهم هؤلاء العمال.

وقبيل نهاية عام 2017، بدأ العمال في جميع الاستادات عملية التصويت لاختيار ممثليهم الجدد من بين المرشحين المتطلعين للفوز بشرف تمثيل العمال في المنتدى. وقد شهدت هذه العملية الديمقراطية مشاركة العمال في جميع مشاريعنا، سواء انطلاقاً من تجاربهم السابقة، أو بتشجيع وإلهام من زملائهم المتنافسين، وذلك بهدف ضمان إسماع أصواتهم.

 صوت العمال
 صوت العمال

لجنة رعاية العمال

عندما لا تصل منتديات رعاية العمال إلى حلول لمشكلة ما، يجري تصعيدها إلى لجنة رعاية العمال، والتي تتولى أيضاً مناقشة بعض المسائل ذات الأهمية الخاصة والمتعلقة بعلاقات العمال الحاليين أو المتوقع التحاقهم بالعمل في مشاريعنا. وتعمل هذه اللجنة على طرح وتحديد الحلول والاستراتيجيات الممكنة بشأن القضايا التي لم تجد حلًا والمتصلة بعدم الامتثال لمعاييرنا لرعاية العمال، سواء في مواقع الإنشاءات أو في أماكن السكن.

 صوت العمال
 صوت العمال

الخط الساخن لتلقي الشكاوى

طرحنا في 2017 الخط الساخن المخصص لتلقي شكاوى العمال، والذي يمكنهم من خلاله رفع قضاياهم مباشرة وبشكل سري إلى فريق رعاية العمال المعني بأماكن السكن، وعملية التوظيف، وظروف العمل. وقد حظي الخط الساخن بشعبية في أوساط العمال، كما يجري حالياً عقد دورات توعوية لضمان إطلاع جميع العمال على هذه الخدمة.

وقد أدت هذه الدورات التوعوية إلى حدوث تغيير في نوعية القضايا المثارة، حيث اكتسب العمال الثقة في الأثر الذي تحمله هذه المنصة. واستقبل الخط الساخن قرابة 260 شكوى جرى إيجاد الحلول لـ 230 منها.

 صوت العمال
 صوت العمال

وفي مسعى إضافي لتشجيع إعداد تقارير معمقة حول الشكاوى، دخل فريق رعاية العمال في شراكة مع وحدة قطر للتوجيه السلوكي لإجراء تجارب سلوكية مع مجموعة مختارة من منتديات رعاية العمال. وكانت اللجنة العليا قد أسست وحدة قطر للتوجيه السلوكي بهدف الاستفادة من الاقتصادات السلوكية وعلم النفس باستخدام وسائل التوجيه السلوكي منخفضة التكلفة، وسوف تبدأ الوحدة عملها في عدد محدد من منتديات رعاية العمال، على أن يجري توسيع نطاق العمل إلى مجموعة أكبر من ممثلي العمال بناء على نسبة النجاح والدروس المستفادة.

التواصل مع أطراف خارجية

نحرص على أن يرتكز حوارنا على الصراحة والنزاهة، وعندما وقّعنا اتفاقية تعاون مع الاتحاد الدولي لعمال البناء والأخشاب (EN)، عملنا بكل جد على تشجيع النقاشات والتفاعل بين الاتحاد، وهو أحد أكبر الاتحادات النقابية في العالم، والعاملين في بناء مشاريع بطولة كأس العالم لكرة القدم قطر 2022

 صوت العمال
 صوت العمال

من جانب آخر، تمتلك شركة إمباكت ليميتد (EN)، المراقب الخارجي المستقل، فريقاً من الباحثين الميدانيين يستفيدون من حرية النفاذ دون قيود إلى مواقعنا للاستماع إلى الرجال والسيدات من العاملين على الأرض في تشييد استادات البطولة، في ظل شعار إمباكت: العامل أولًا، وهي القيمة التي نؤمن بها جميعاً.

قصص واقعية

أشرفت اللجنة العليا في أكتوبر 2017 على انتخابات منتدى رعاية العمال في مواقع سكن العمال في الشحانية ومدينة العمال، وموقع سكن عمال شركة تشالنجر للمقاولات (EN).

رامو ديشاهاني، من نيبال ويبلغ من العمر 49 عاماً، وهو متخصص في تمديد الأنابيب، تحدث عن انتخابه ممثلًا عن زملائه الذين عملوا  في بناء استاد الجنوب، إلى جانب زميله فردوس إسلام من الهند، 40 عاماً، الذي يعمل أيضاً في استاد الجنوب.

 صوت العمال
 صوت العمال

وتوجّه العمال من 8:00 صباحاً حتى 3:00 عصراً للإدلاء بأصواتهم لزملائهم المتطلعين لتمثيلهم في منتدى رعاية العمال، وقد تجمّع نحو ألف عامل لمتابعة إعلان النتائج.

وأعرب رامو، عقب إعلان النتائج، عن بالغ فخره باختياره ممثلًا عن العمال، وقال : "من الهام جداً أن تتاح لنا الفرصة لنتحدث عن قضايانا وأن نشعر بأهميتنا. بالنسبة لي لم أشهد مثل هذه التجربة من قبل طوال مسيرتي المهنية."

ويؤكد النجاح الذي حققته هذه الممارسة الديمقراطية على أن لدى العمال إيمان بأن ما يواجهونه من مشاكل سوف يتعامل معها زملاء لهم يشاركونهم نفس القدر من الاهتمام بقضاياهم، كما يُلقي الضوء على ثقة العمال في أن منتديات رعاية العمال سوف ترفع القضايا الهامة إلى المعنيين، ما يقود في النهاية إلى التعامل معها من جانب المقاولين واللجنة العليا.

 صوت العمال
 صوت العمال

اقرأ المزيد حول برنامجنا لرعاية العمال: الصفحة الرئيسية | الرحلة | معاييرنا | التزامنا | فريقنا